I am encouraged by the results of the 2014 midterm elections.  For the first time in 8 years, the House of Representatives and the Senate are both PROLIFE.  I don’t know about you, but that sparks hope inside of me!

Balance

I voted for the first time in the 2008 presidential election. This was ONE YEAR before I made Jesus Lord of my life.  At that time, I am quite embarassed but will be transparent and tell you that I voted for Barack Obama believing that he would deliver change…and honestly, for an example of just how shallow I was: I was excited that a black man [well…kind of black] was running for president [YES, I can admit it…I was one of THOSE people].  I believed that he could shake things up a bit in Washington.  I believed that he had an ear for the people.  I was really temporally focused and selfish.  I had a career in healthcare [laboratory technology] so that was a big priority in my life.  Many of my patients did not have insurance coverage and it was frustrating to say the least.  Obama made comprehensive health care reform the centerpiece of his domestic agenda.  He promised:

  • To facilitate health care coverage for nearly all Americans [he changed his tune on individual mandates to suit Congress]
  • To provide subsidies for people who cannot afford insurance
  • Implement consumer protections
  • Boost federal funding for prevention and wellness programs,
  • Give tax credits to small businesses that provide their employees with health coverage
  • Implement health information technology systems.

I believed that Barack Obama was going to innoculate the country with HOPE.  Here is one bold faced lie: “If you’ve got health insurance through your employer, you can keep your health insurance, keep your choice of doctor, keep your plan,” Mr. Obama said in his Oct. 15, 2008 debate against McCain. “The only thing we’re going to try to do is lower costs so that those cost savings are passed onto you. And we estimate we can cut the average family’s premium by about $2,500 per year.”

Looking back…well, just watch for yourself and see how blinded I was.  This is long, however it is well worth the watch if you have time:

I made a lot of excuses for my patients because I made a lot of excuses for myself.  My desire was not to empower them but I simply was enabling them and sympathizing rather than empathizing. TODAY…I stand for righteousness.  I have a biblical worldview and my heart has been transformed.  I stand on two key issues when determining who I vote for: abortion and the sanctity of marriage. I am PROLIFE and I believe that marriage is for a man and a woman.  This determines who I vote for. I have been schooled.

If I could teach one thing to young people or those who may not have ever voted either out of ignorance or complacency, it would be this:

Define what is important to YOU.  Really determine what your convictions are and what you want to stand on.  Make sure it is a firm foundation and not sinking sand.  Some things are constant and others are forever changing.  Make sure you base your decisions on righteousness.

Let me know what is important to you…and what you think of this year’s results.

Leave a Reply

