I am the Queen of the Big Mouth…at least I was.  Hey…sanctification is a process!  I am the person who thought that if it was true, then I should say it. I am also the person who believed that I always had all the answers. As I grow and mature and move forward in my walk with Christ [yes…I am a Christian…but don’t let that stop you, read on!], I am learning that I don’t always have the voice that needs to be heard.

Here are FIVE statements I wish I had not ever made, in no particular order [however you’re welcome to rate them]

1.  “YES” [when I wanted to say NO!]

We do not have to participate in EVERYTHING.  It is so easy to say yes and be a people-pleaser.  What happens?  We over-extend ourselves and live a life of chaos.  This is a distraction of the enemy.  He wants to get you so focused on pleasing man that you don’t please God.  He will get you so busy that you are not productive.  You are always late, nothing gets finished, you are completely overwhelmed and then what happens?  You just QUIT!  Don’t let this be you.  Be honest. If the answer is NO, then let it be NO. You do not want to have to go back on your word.  Your word is your bond. Follow the guidance of the Holy Spirit and wisdom.

MimiEunice_60

2.  “God won’t give you more than you can handle. Suck it up.”

I said this more than once in my immaturity.  Here is what Scripture actually says in 1 Cor 10:13:

The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience.  And God is faithful.  He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.

God’s grace is sufficient.  He gives us MORE than we can handle so that we are dependent on Him and He is glorified in the victory. We allow Him to handle…we are to stand firm on His Word, His Promises.

God's Promises

I love when Jesus is in the Garden of Gethsemane.  It is one of my favorite passages in the Bible. Jesus had just been affirmed by The Father.  He is about to begin His ministry.  He has been fasting.  He is weak…and temptation comes. The devil tempts Christ in trying to have Him do something that is contrary to the nature of God. The enemy played on His natural weakness, not accounting for His spiritual strength. What Did Jesus Do? [WDJD]  He gave Him the Word…He fought with His Sword. In temptation, we must do the same.  He shows us a way out…[wisdom]…so that we can endure. His grace is sufficient and His power works best in weakness [2 Cor 12:9].  I have committed Scripture to memory so that when temptation comes, I can battle spiritually.  Praying in tongues is another weapon in my arsenal.  The devil can’t understand this heavenly language.

3.  “I would NEVER _____________”

No matter WHAT you fill in the blank, this is condemnation.  Anytime I use the word ‘never’ or ‘always’ it should only be in reference to Jesus because He is the only perfect One.  These words are drenched in finality and eternity.  I help lead our prolife ministry at Powerhouse Church in Katy, Texas.  We go out to Planned Parenthood at least once a month.  I train volunteers to counsel on the sidewalk.  I can’t tell you how many times I have heard them say TO ME “I just don’t understand how a woman could ever have an abortion.”  I DO NOT put these people on the sidewalk. If they would stand and tell me this [I have HAD an abortion] I can’t gauge what will come out of their mouth in front of a fearful, abortion-minded woman.  These words pierce past scar tissue directly to the heart and create new wounds. We must learn to be compassionate and loving, we don’t ever know the battle that someone is waging.

A better way: start with a testimony of a time when you did something really depraved. This evens the ground and breaks the silence. Many times the Holy Spirit places people in front of us because He wants us to testify to His goodness.  It is His goodness that draws men [and women] to repentance.  When we draw a line with ‘never’ and ‘always’ we exclude or isolate.  We separate ourselves from a sinner when we act ‘self-righteous’.  Don’t EVER forget where you came from.

I waited patiently for the Lord to help me,
    and he turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the pit of despair,
    out of the mud and the mire.
He set my feet on solid ground
    and steadied me as I walked along.
He has given me a new song to sing,
    a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see what he has done and be amazed.
    They will put their trust in the Lord.

~ Psalm 40:1-3

This ^ is one of my favorite passages of Scripture and keeps me grounded. I am reminded often that “There but for the grace of God go I.”

4.  ANYTHING…[sometimes I just wish I had said NOTHING]

Listening is a ministry.  [NOT eavesdropping or gossiping] There are so many times when I wish I had just listened and not said a word. If you listen long enough, you will hear the need. I must submit and surrender my judgments, assumptions, prejudices and experiences and ‘get in their boat’. I have found that as the person confesses the hurt or transgression, the Holy Spirit begins to bring to their remembrance the Truth and they are set free without my “assistance”. Just being present and representing Christ is enough sometimes.

5.  NOTHING…[other times I should have spoken up]

I have carried offense because I would not go to a person and tell them the truth. This root of bitterness harmed ME, not the other person. Time does not heal all wounds, JESUS DOES.  Confession comes by way of the mouth, not osmosis.  We must open our mouths and speak about the hurts we carry.  Healing begins because of the exposure. The devil has no power over the transgression once the light shines on it.I have also watched someone fall deeper into depravity because I was more concerned about whether they would be angry with me than what the Holy Spirit was telling me. If we love our neighbor, we will be an example of Christ’s love.  We may not have to SAY anything, but our actions proclaim boldly the Truth that binds us.  IF the moment comes when you do need to speak up, don’t stifle the unction of the Spirit.  Let Him guide you and get out of the way. He is a Wonder-Worker! Words as smooth as velvet have flowed from my lips and I had no idea where they came from because I allowed Him to use me and be a mouthpiece for God and He got ALL the glory…because I am just NOT THAT SWEET 🙂

This list could go on and on and on…until next time, leave me a comment of something that YOU may have said that you only wish you could take back. I would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Watch Your Mouth Girl: 5 Things I Wish I Didn’t Say

  1. One thing that comes to mind immediately is back when I was a new Christian I would say “I don’t understand how people in church can be so complacent”…… A few years in and some pretty good punches from life and voila! I find myself complacent. I get it. I also remember each morning to take my foot out of my mouth before I leave the house. It’s not a good look……. As sure as we judge we will be judged in that manner. That is unshakable truth. I am in a weird spot, lately. I have more compassion and tolerance inwardly but my complacency leaves me without His life changing anointing for those I come in contact with. I’m in the spiritual friend zone and the intimacy isn’t that deep. You know? Does this even pertain to your post?! Ha ha! Whatever. I like talking to you.
    P.S. There’s quite a few more “I’ll nevers” but those aren’t for a public forum 😉 Who knows, maybe my witness will receive resurrection.

    Like

Leave a Reply

