This post is written by Brandy Frizzell.  She attends Powerhouse Church and we have been walking together for over a year now.  I have been privileged to witness her grow exponentially in the time we have spent together.  She is precious to me so be nice! Please read, share, and comment!  Encouragement is welcome!

I was reading in Exodus last night and came across the passage that mentions about an eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth. I have always heard people use this verse for retribution for things done wrong for them, so I was not exactly sure where in the Bible this passage was located.   I had read Exodus before, but when it was I was new in Christ. Oh what a difference it makes the times in your life when you read certain scriptures. It really is true that the Bible is a living, breathing Word.

Alas, I digress. These portions of the scripture before and after are God providing laws for Israel, so that they may live righteously and be separated from other nations. Read it for yourself:

22“If people are fighting and hit a pregnant woman and she gives birth prematurely but there is no serious injury, the offender must be fined whatever the woman’s husband demands and the court allows. 23But if there is serious injury, you are to take life for life, 24eye for eye, tooth for tooth, hand for hand, foot for foot, 25burn for burn, wound for wound, bruise for bruise.

What really struck me in reading this passage were the verses before it. This eye for an eye scripture is specifically referencing the life of a baby that is unborn. If there is serious injury to a baby in the womb that causes the baby’s life to be terminated before birth, then the life that caused the baby’s premature termination was to be taken as well.

God could have chosen to put this eye for an eye scripture at any point in his laws. He was providing specific instructions for His people on dealing with servants, bodily injury, and the protection of property.

I believe that this passage specifically outlines God’s love for children and how important it is that they be born, that their life not be terminated prematurely. Jeremiah 1:5 says, “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.”

As I was reading this scripture and I meditated on it, I began to think about abortion and the implications of abortion. These scriptures outline how serious God feels about an unborn child. We cannot continue to let people be deceived that God has not set these children aside as prophets for our nation.


Please tell us what you think.  Whether you are pro-choice or pro-life we would love to hear from you.

Follow us on Twitter @loveletslive73

Leave a Reply

